Safe Birth: I’m Reading Christiane Northrup, MD, OB/GYN

I Love it when Dr. Northrup writes a post like this.  Normal Birth, Safe Birth. She talks about the realities of our maternal health care system in such a smooth and matter of fact way I wanna just quote her whole article.  One of my favorite parts from this current article:

Labor proceeds on its own schedule. The exquisite timing that is a result of the delicate interaction between a baby and her mother needs to be respected. Our culture’s collective trust in C-sections and labor inductions that increase the risk of surgical birth is mind-boggling! The Shriver Report points out that women still seek permission from authority figures far more often than men do. We still don’t trust ourselves. No wonder we so willingly turn over our bodies during birth.

Yes… its no wonder. *smdh* As it life so it continues in birth. When we as women are comfortable speaking up for ourselves, our bodies, our births, our communities, our sisters… when we realize that we need to have our own best interests and those of our children/families in mind… when we realize that THEY don’t always have our best interests in minds… when we learn to pick up a book, to get the facts and to  SHARE the information without apology then we will be able to change the system.

And of course I love the way she ends it…   “When it comes to pregnancy and birth, we as a culture and as individuals need to wake up and claim our right to literally birth right!” That’s what I been saying all along! Read the Entire Article Here. And come back and tell me what you think.

In Birth and Love
Nicole

3 responses to “Safe Birth: I’m Reading Christiane Northrup, MD, OB/GYN

  1. Dr. Northrup is definitely deep and yes, it sucks that most women are raised to not trust their own minds and inner voice, let alone their bodies. This is why so many “can’t” breastfeed and “don’t make enough” milk.

  2. I hear you, sis.

    I thought I knew everything about my body. But I just recently reached another realization: My body is perfectly unusual (I won’t say un-normal).

    For YEARS, I’ve been trying to figure out why my period is irregular. It took 18 to finally figure it out: My cycle will come when it is time. I’ve taken drugs, tests, and more drugs, and the results are the same.

    So it goes to say, my pregnancy and birth will occur according to my body’s timetable.

    Women, let your body lead you!

    (Thank you for this post.)

Leave a Reply

