When the Blind One Shows Us the Way… *smh*

It has been far too long since I have made writing a blog post a priority. I have been busy making plans to Birth Something Beautiful in 2014 🙂  And I promise I will get better in 2014!!! ❤

In the meantime… one of the things that has me busy today is my need to get the CEUs necessary to renew my nursing license.  I found an online modules on a reputable site that would give me half of the CEUs I need and it also sounded like I might enjoy the reading.  Its titled “Childbirth Education:  A handbook for nurses” The objective is to give labor and delivery nurses an idea of what is discussed during a CBE class.  I can tell this course is not old, meaning it was written in the past year because it does not expire until 2015 and there are references on the reference list from 2012.  It was written by a person who is an RN, CNM and has 20 years of experience as a CBE.

Sooooo let me  get to the part that has me taking a break to write this blog post… I’m reading along, going fast so I can get to the test and get my CEUs… you know how it goes… and I am brought to a screeching halt when I read the following statement:

“The average length of the early phase is eight hours. A maximum length of 20 hours for primiparas, eight hours for multiparas is considered normal.”

I think to myself… hmmm, thats odd…  Aint nothing right about that… She is trippin… then I say to myself  “What ever Nicole… just remember that wrongness for the test so you can get this done” And then I continue reading and I see…

“The normal fetal heart rate is 120 to 160 beats per minute with variability that may range slightly lower or higher. The fetal heart rate should accelerate greater than 15 beats per minute, for more than 15 seconds, and twice in 10 minutes or three times in a 20-minute period.”

And then I’m like SERIOUSLY?? How was this course ever approved?? FYI and BTW… the information above is WRONG.

What is most interesting to me is that in addition to all the various degrees and experience of the author, the reference list includes the all important 2008 National Institute of Child Health Human Development workshop report on electronic fetal monitoring: update on definitions, interpretation, and research guidelines.Obstet Gynecol. 2008;l12(3):661-666.   This document is the standard used to read fetal monitoring strips nation wide. In spite of this document being listed on the reference list the facts are not being reported in this module.  The definition of a normal fetal heart rate is 110-160 and when doing an NST we look for TWO heart rate accelerations in TWENTY minutes. (side note:  This is just part of the picture… normals and variations can happen and with only the information presented here there is no way to know if a fetal monitor strip tracing is normal or not)

Now… imagine a new nurse, without guidance who is using this CEU module for learning… WOW!!Just WOW… and I am only 1/4 of the way through this thing…  I’m speechless… The blind… leading the blind…  I’m not saying everything in this module is bad or wrong nor am I suggestions that I know all the right answers. I am suggesting that we really have to go to the source. Do our due diligence and make sure we have valid information…

And so it is… and so we must continue to educate and help our mamas know the TRUTH And help them navigate the madness. The struggle continues… #FistUp

Leave a Reply

